#BlogBlitz: LAST WITNESS by CHRIS MERRITT (Detective Zac Boateng Series #2)

Chris Merritt Last Witness - Blog Tour

#BlogBlitz: LAST WITNESS by CHRIS MERRITT (Detective Zac Boateng Series #2) #crime #thriller @bookouture @DrCJMerritt @nholten40


Chris Meritt Last-Witness-Kindle

Title: Last Witness

Author: Chris Merritt

Publishers: Bookouture

Available to Buy: Amazon UKAmazon US / Kobo

What The Book Says

What if you made one mistake and it came back to kill you?

Detective Zac Boateng’s old friend, Troy McEwen, is found dead in his home. The official verdict is suicide. But Boateng believes it was murder. And he thinks he might be next on the killer’s list.

If Troy didn’t take his own life, then who did? As he investigates, Boateng discovers a link to an incident from decades earlier. Mistakes were made that day. Lives were lost and secrets kept. Until now…

As more people who were there on that fateful day are found dead, Boateng knows that the killer is closing in on him…

A tense crime thriller for fans of Lee Child, Mark Billingham and Mark Dawson. Last Witness is a gripping, fast-paced thriller that will have you hooked from the first page.


bookreview-041

It seems ages since I read the first book in the Detective Zac Boateng series, but really its only been a short time. Its been such a pleasure to walk through the pages of the Last Witness with Boateng, playing Detective through my own imagination, interpreting the secrets, the lies, the clues in my own fanciful way, occasionally becoming sullen when I get it wrong, but hey who doesn’t.

Okay so I have established that the Last Witness is a second book for Boateng, so how about we have a wee look into what Boateng got involved in this time.

Never the crime of the century but unbeholden to Zac the death of a old friend Troy McEwen, would embroil him and his family in a past investigation, which could ultimately cost him his life. Troy has apparently committed suicide but Zac believes that his friend was murdered, as the days pass more people he knew are being found dead, each one with a connection to the past, the lies that were told, the secrets covered up, the individuals who died that day. The past is hurtling towards Boateng at an almighty speed, he believes he is next to die, can he find out who is responsible before he is the next target and protect his family.

I still really like Boateng even if he has past misdemeanours which throw a different light on him, but at the end of the day we have all made mistakes, okay maybe not as serious as Boateng’s but they are there. There is something about Boateng as a character which warms we to him, he is cool, calm and collected to some extent but becomes a  different man entirely when his family are involved, nothing will get in his way of protecting them.

As for some of the other characters, there was one I really wanted to punch, when you read Last Witness you will know who I mean, a self centred individual who thinks nothing of being a complete and utter (insert rude word here).

Well Chris you have definitely produced another exceptional piece of work, one I couldn’t let go of, the pages turned at a slower pace for me this time as I wanted to savour the story, read between the lines, trying to decipher where you were leading Boateng, to see if I came to the same conclusions. Detective work I just don’t think is for me, yeah I caught onto many of the clues but I still didn’t catch the bugger at he end, 1-0 to you Chris.

My thanks go to Bookouture, Chris Merritt and Noelle Holten for the advanced readers copy of the Last Witness in exchange for an unbiased and honest review. Been a pleasure to be part of the Blob Blitz today and I hope to welcome the next Detective Zac Boateng very soon.


Chris Merritt author photo

Author Bio

Chris Merritt is a Clinical Psychologist and former diplomat based in London, who has been writing on psychology since 2010. In 2014 he decided to combine his Bring Her Back, his debut novel. He currently works on a mental health research project at King’s College London, and part-time as a psychologist in the NHS. When not working or writing, he loves climbing and basketball, and dreams of one day being able to work from home enough to own a whippet.

Author Social Media Links:
Twitter: https://twitter.com/DrCJMerritt
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/17558172.Chris_Merritt

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s