#BlogBlitz: (Book Extract) THE FAMILY AT NO.13 by S.D.Monaghan

Lets have a shake up today, its my pleasure to introduce you to the author S.D.Monaghan, then a wee treat in which I have the first chapter of his new book The Family At No.13. Lets crack on and see what we can find out about S.D Monaghan through his author bio.

sd-monahan-500

Author Bio

S. D. Monaghan grew up in Dublin before travelling extensively in Asia, Europe and America. After teaching English in Thailand for two years, he moved back to Ireland and gained an honours degree in psychology. While living in Canada for four years, he studied screenwriting in Toronto. S. D. Monaghan completed the Masters in Creative Writing at Trinity College, Dublin with the editorial guidance of the Pulitzer Prize winner Richard Ford and Orange Prize nominee, Deirdre Madden. On the strength of his work there, he was chosen to represent both the university and the Oscar Wilde Writers’ Centre to read excerpts at the Dublin Publishers Festival and on Dublin Culture Night. He lives in Dublin with his wife, where he is currently working on his new novel. He is represented by Zoe Ross at United Agents.

Author Social Media Links:

Facebookhttps://www.facebook.com/S.D.MonaghanAuthor/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/SeanMonaghan16
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/author.s.d.monaghan/?hl=en

Right so we have had a look at S.D.Monaghan’s author bio, giving us an insight into what he has accomplished over the years. He certainly has been busy academically and within his creative writing.


Before I give up the first chapter I thought I would let you see the cover of The Family At No.13 and take a look what’s in store for us in the synopsis.

The-Family-at-Number-13-Kindle

Synopsis

The most perfect lives can hide the darkest secrets…

Mary has everything. Beautiful and rich, she lives on an exclusive street in the heart of the city, in a house with gorgeous views and an immaculately maintained garden. Her life looks perfect.

But behind closed doors the truth is very different. Her husband Andrew barely speaks to her, spending his days down in the basement alone. Her teenage nephew is full of rage, lashing out with no warning. Her carefully constructed life is beginning to fall apart.

And then someone starts sending Mary anonymous notes, threatening her and her family…

Everyone has secrets. But is someone at number 13 hiding something that could put the whole family in danger?

A twist-filled thriller with an ending that will shock you to the core. Perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door, Lies and Behind Closed Doors.

Available to Buy

Amazon Universal Link: myBook.to/TFaN13Social


Chapter-1

Okay its time, lets get the first chapter on the road, and see what S.D. Monaghan has in store for us…………..

CHAPTER ONE

THE DAY OF CONNOR

The blood welled up as a desolate cold crept into the wound like a ghost. Connor stared down at the corpse. It had a face he recognised; a face he knew too well. Then he nodded, his shocked body agreeing with his composed mind that – yes, a knife will do this to flesh. Connor gripped the camouflage-green handle, looked at the steel and then down to the injury as if finding it difficult to believe that this same tool had only moments before knifed spinewards
through reefs of ribs. For a moment, the blade glistened under the suburban street lights of St Catherine’s Hill before the shadows of the trees swallowed it, turning the bloodstain into an oily smear.

Connor delicately lifted the head, hoping to find a hint of life to comfort and yet also wanting to look, for a final time, upon that face that he had become so familiar with. He needed to keep the weight steady, not wanting to jolt it, as if there really was an expectation that a bleating whimper of hope would be detected.

But there was also an acceptance that this was the heaviest type of burden anyone would have to lift. Blood as thick as paint had already spilled across the driveway in a circular motif, while further away more of it was splattered about like an angry Jackson Pollock.

An upstairs bedroom window opened in the neighbouring
house and a woman leaned out to the usual quiet of St Catherine’s Hill. There was a stretch of silence as her brain processed exactly what she saw – and then she screamed, a penetrating and dismayed acknowledgement as to what lay, cruelly mutilated, on the driveway of number 13.

Connor stared up and intended to shout, but only a whisper emerged; ‘No. It wasn’t me. I don’t know what happened. I wasn’t here.’ Despite the rising panic, a flash of bullet points riddled a neat line across his brain:
I’ve been set up. From the very beginning.
Now no one will believe me. I’m completely and utterly fucked.

The woman once again shouted out to St Catherine’s Hill, this time making words. ‘Oh my God! Police. Someone call the police!’

Connor looked between the two driveway pillars topped with flashy stone griffins to the road outside. In a matter of minutes they’d be putting all their resources into finding him as quickly as possible. They had to. They knew that when a person killed once, they entered an existential realm where life was revealed to be nothing much and so to kill a few more would make no difference. Lights brightened the hallways of a few nearby houses.

His time was already running out.

Well what did you think, like the sound of it well here’s the link to buy a copy myBook.to/TFaN13Social

If you need further incentive please have a look at the other bloggers associated with The Family At No.13 Blog Blitz and see what their saying about S.D.Monaghan’s new book.  

The Family at No. 13 - Blog Tour

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s