#BlogTour THE LYING KIND by ALISON JAMES

THE LYING KIND

#BlogTour #TheMissingChild(detectiveRachelPrinceBook1) @AlisonJbooks @Bookouture @KimTheBookworm

Its with great delight that I am pleased to be part of the Blog Tour for The Lying Kind by Alison James, kindly invited by Kim Nash and Bookouture.

Well lets go and have a wee sneaky peek at the synopsis before I give my thoughts on The Lying Kind.


 the lying kind cover

Synopsis

The little girl stirred and opened her eyes. A light from the landing played a shadow across her toy cupboard. It was then she realised… There was someone else in the room.

Six-year-old Lola Jade Harper has gone missing from her bedroom on a safe, suburban street.

Her mother says her ex-husband has stolen their daughter. Lola’s father denies it was him.

Family, friends and neighbours all say they didn’t see a thing. But someone must know where the little girl is. Who is lying? And who is telling the truth?

Detective Rachel Prince knows the longer a child is unaccounted for, the less likely they are to be found alive.

The clock is ticking. It’s up to Rachel to find Lola Jade, before it’s too late.

And then another little girl is taken…

Truly addictive from start to finish, The Lying Kind is a nail-bitingly tense crime thriller by one of the best new voices in crime fiction. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Karin Slaughter.

Available to Buy

Amazon UKAmazon USKobo


Review Word Shows Assessment Evaluating Evaluates And Reviews

The Lying Kind by Alison James, a brilliant first in the series surrounding Detective Rachel Prince. Alison has opened the door wide to enable the series to continue following Prince and her sidekick DS Brickall, there is so much history still to be discovered about Prince that I can’t possibly wait too long for the next in the series.

Alison opens The Lying Kind with the dramatic abduction of a child, Lola Jade Harper, Prince takes up the case as all leads seem to have become stagnant and Surrey police have slowed their investigation. There are several characters in the frame as suspects but no real evidence. Prince and Brickall battle to uncover the truth, separating the lies, hitting dead ends, to turn full circle and become embroiled in the deception again and again, will the truth ever come to light to what happened to Lola Jade……

The character of Detective Rachel Prince in my mind is portrayed as being slightly cold, with a pinch of heat. Prince certainly isn’t infallible proven by her lack of caution whilst following some leads. Even so Prince is likeable, due to her comic banter with Brickall, which in turn brings some light heartedness to some hard to swallow scenarios in the book. Now Brickall is a different kettle of fish, he is full of himself at times, he thinks he’s gods gift to women but even that backfires almost to the point he may have dangled himself on the wrong side of the law.

For all the misnomers in Prince and Brickall’s characters its hard not to see a connection between the two which make them the perfect partners, just the way I like it the rough with the smooth, a quintessential alliance.

A high profile investigation into a child abduction and I had a gut feeling that the case of abduction felt familiar and pointed me in the direction of a case that was in the public eye, in which each piece of evidence or suspect had inconsistencies, a flawed case. Did Alison intend to take me down that road of had my mind just wandered too far…..only the end will give you the answer.

Taking everything in to perspective, overall Alison has produced a fantastic new police procedural which is capable of expansion into many more investigations by Prince and Brickall and I look forward to hearing from Alison again very soon.

Thank you to Alison James, Bookouture and Kim Nash for an advanced readers copy of The Lying Kind which I have read and given an honest review.


alison james

Author Bio

I was born in the Cotswolds but spent most of my formative years abroad. I studied languages at Oxford, then became a journalist and author, returning to university after my two children to take a law degree. After a three-year stint as a criminal paralegal, I worked as a commercial copywriter and then a TV storyliner, before coming full circle to write fiction again.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s