#BlogTour THE SECRET CHILD by KERRY FISHER

secret child blog tour

#BlogTour @KerryFSwayne @Bookouture @KimTheBookworm

The Secret Child by Kerry Fisher

UK http://amzn.to/2elEkMq

US http://amzn.to/2wqDtT0

Book Cover secret child

Book Description

You can run from your past, but it will always catch up with you…

Susie was forced to do something she will always regret: giving her baby son up for adoption. Everything that led to this child, this choice, had to be buried and forgotten.

Her secret echoes down through the years, tainting everything it touches. Her husband wonders why his wife is so distant. Her daughters can’t understand their changeable mother.

Susie knows her past is pushing her family apart, and the guilt is eating her up, but she can’t escape the longing for her lost son. No-one but Susie knows the whole story, and when her daughters discover a piece of the puzzle, she must face the question she has struggled with for most of her life:

Would the truth bring them back together, or break them?

From the bestselling author of The Silent Wife, The Secret Child is a heartbreaking and unputdownable novel about family secrets and lies. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Jojo Moyes and Diane Chamberlain.


My Review

Well I’m an idiot, The Secret Child by Kerry Fisher Blog Tour 1st December, I had forgotten to read the book. I’ve stayed up most of the night to read, it was impossible to go to sleep even if I tried, the tears flowing from my eyes blurred the pages and my body trembled with emotion, Kerry tore my heart in two with the ultimate heart wrenching story of a life changing event. Now on with writing my review while I still can see.

The Secret Child by Kerry Fisher, a story of how a moment of infidelity by Susie in the 60s, presents a life changing decision, the adoption of her son, which in the future would affect every family member.

A secret concealed over the years, shaping and determining the direction of Susie’s life and that of her family, her daughters seems to be forever in the shadows of their mothers turmoil, unsure why their relationship is tumultuous and complex. Although Susie loves her family, there is a gapping hole in her heart which she can’t fill, a feeling of isolation, hiding her emotions over her Secret Child. The guilt and shame eats at Susie, as the secret spills out, will her family stand by her.

Kerry has written an emotionally charged book which literally has torn my heart and soul to pieces, the words are imprinted in my memory, the feeling of hurt burned bright before my eyes, all the while preventing my need for sleep.

Thanks to Bookouture, Kim Nash and Kerry Fisher for an amazing book that I couldn’t tear myself away from. I’m overjoyed to have been honoured with an advanced readers copy of The Secret Child, to read and review for the Blog Tour, I’m still trying to prevent my mind having a melt down from lack of sleep, but Kerry Fisher you can take me down an emotional roller coaster anytime.


kerry fisher

Author Bio

Born in Peterborough, Kerry Fisher studied French and Italian at Bath University, followed by several years working as an English teacher in Corsica and Spain before topping the dizzying heights of holiday rep and grape picker in Tuscany. She eventually succumbed to ‘getting a proper job’ and returned to England to study Periodical Journalism at City University. After two years working in the features department at Essentials magazine in London, love carried her off to the wilds of the West Pennine moors near Bolton. She now lives in Surrey with her husband (of whisking off to Bolton fame), two teenagers and a very naughty lab/schnauzer called Poppy. Kerry can often be seen trailing across the Surrey Hills whistling and waving pieces of chicken while the dog practises her ‘talk to the tail’. In her third book, After The Lie, Kerry shamelessly exploits every embarrassing dog misdemeanour to create her fictional hound, Mabel.

Kerry has spent half her life talking about writing a novel, then several years at Candis magazine reviewing other people’s but it wasn’t until she took some online courses with the UCLA (University of California) that the dream started to morph into reality, culminating in the publishing of The Class Ceiling. The Avon imprint of HarperCollins picked it up and retitled it The School Gate Survival Guide, published summer 2014. Her second book, The Island Escape, came out in May 2015. It won first prize at the York Festival of Writing for the opening line: ‘I was wearing the wrong bra for sitting in a police cell’. Her latest book, After The Lie, the story of how small lies become more toxic as they pass down the generations, is out on 29 April 2016.

Best advice ever received: ‘This is fiction, we can skip the boring bits.’ Lynn Hightower, UCLA Writers’ Program.

Read more of her thoughts on life at http://www.kerryfisherauthor.com or follow her on twitter at @kerryfswayne

 

 

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour THE SECRET CHILD by KERRY FISHER

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s