THE FIRST ONE TO DIE by VICTORIA JENKINS

The First One to Die - Blog Tour

Aaaah to be part of a Bookouture Blog Blitz, who would have thought it, I still can’t believe they let me in, hahaha. I know I’ve taken part previously but I’m so excited to be part of the gang now, I always thought someone would pinch me and the dream would be over, but I’m here with a great bunch of bloggers.

Okay lets get this Blog Blitz for The First One to Die by Victoria Jenkins onto the internet highway, after all its Publication Day.


The-First-One-To-Die-Kindle

Title:
The First One To Die
Author:
Victoria Jenkins

Book Description

Four friends. A house full of secrets. And a killer picking them off one by one…

‘She tried to break her fall, twisting desperately, but there was nothing to catch hold of, nothing with which she could stop herself. Her single scream cut through the night air.’

One hot summer night, a young woman falls from a rooftop to her death. Detective Alex King is called to the quiet terraced street.

The victim, Keira North, was twenty, happy and carefree. It seems like an accident, but there’s broken glass on the carpet, and witnesses overheard an argument. Could someone have wanted her dead?

Keira’s friends don’t seem as helpful as Alex would expect and the post-mortem reveals that Keira was hiding a secret: she was five months pregnant. Alex’s team soon finds that all of Keira’s closest friends have secrets that someone might kill to keep.

As Alex realises Keira might be just the first victim on a list, her leads take her a bit too close to home. With her own demons to fight, can Alex catch the killer, before someone else dies?

The First One to Die is a heart-stopping and shocking detective thriller that will have you gripped until the very last page. Perfect for fans of Patricia Gibney, Angela Marsons, and Val McDermid.

Amazon Links:
UK: http://amzn.to/2uKLBQu
US: http://amzn.to/2w4XaC6


My Review

The First One To Die is the second in the series following Detectives King & Lane by Victoria Jenkins and what a cracker it is. How many of you love a fantastic cover, well the illustration on the cover of Victoria’s newest release is outstanding, the single dying rose amongst the living is so serene and spine-chilling, you can’t help but open the book and read.

In The First One To Die, the sense of anticipation is foreboding, turning those first couple of pages, then wham your first death. A young student Kiera North falls to her death, was it an accident or foul play, its up to Detectives King & Lane to uncover the truth. Crucial evidence is lost due to the scene being compromised and its a race against time as more deaths occur, what’s the connection between the flatmates, more to the point who wants them dead.

There’s a multitude of characters within the book, some who are downright obnoxious and you could quite easily rip them from the pages without feeling any remorse, but then in balance to this there is some that I thought were strong and meticulous in personality and demeanour. I particularly liked Chloe, even with her past altercations she proved to be strong and resilient in character with a shade contrite, which showed in her relationships at work and personal life. Alec on the other hand is spirited, assertive in her outwardly character but she hides behind a mask of vulnerability a lot of which is due to failed relationships.

As I ploughed my way through, the twists came thick and fast, snapping my neck as the plot intensifies. At times I was caught out, a twist would creep up on me that I didn’t see coming, causing me to snatch my breath and re-think where Victoria was leading me.

I’m not going to pour every piece of detail about The First One To Die into my review, I want to leave a huge big bite of the book for you to discover and enjoy.

Thank you to Victoria Jenkins and Bookouture for an advanced readers copy of The First To Die the read in exchange for an honest and unbiased review. Many thanks go to Noelle Holten for the opportunity to be part of the Blog Blitz today.


Victoria Jenkins Author Photo

Author Bio:
Victoria Jenkins lives with her husband in South Wales, where she writes crime fiction and teaches English. The Girls in the Water is her debut novel, the first featuring Detective Inspector Alex King and Detective Constable Chloe Lane. The second book in the series will be published in late 2017.

Author Social
Media Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/victoriajenkinswriter/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/vicwritescrime

 

 

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “THE FIRST ONE TO DIE by VICTORIA JENKINS

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s