THE BAD SISTER by ANNE PENKETH

Blog Tour BANNER - The Bad Sister jpg

Today is my spot on the Blog Tour for The Bad Sister by Anne Penketh, published by Joffe Books, kindly invited by Jill to take part.


Burning woman

Book Description

THE BAD SISTER by Anne Penketh

MURDER, LIES, AND FAMILY . . .

DI Sam Clayton is called to a murder scene in Holt, not expecting to find his estranged sister at the scene. Her husband, Henry Lambton, has been murdered. Clayton is taken off the case and DS Julie Everett continues the investigation.

Clayton focuses on a vicious arson attack in Norwich. The fire killed a Polish family in their home. It seems to be part of a series of racist attacks connected to an extremist group.

The two crimes stretch the team and both come dangerously close to home. And can Clayton forgive his sister for what happened over twenty years ago?

In a thrilling conclusion, they race against time to prevent more attacks and get justice for their loved and not so loved ones.

THE BAD SISTER is the second in a new series of page-turning crime thrillers set in an atmospheric part of Norfolk. Perfect for fans of LJ Ross, Mel Sherratt, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

THE TEAM
Detective Inspector Sam Clayton leads the investigation into the North Norfolk murders, joined the police straight from school as a beat bobby in Manchester before rising through the ranks of the CID. He was transferred to Norwich after being promoted to DI following a high-profile case investigated by Lancashire Constabulary.

Detective Sergeant Neil Pringle lives with his third wife in Norwich, where he was born. But taking care of his two sons with his wife Megan, and two other children with previous wives, has put his finances under strain. He never misses a chance to shine in hopes of securing promotion, and can’t help showing off his local knowledge to colleagues.

Detective Sergeant Julie Everett is an intuitive officer who was promoted to detective sergeant from her home town of Ipswich where she had a background in child protection. She is discreet about her personal life among colleagues, particularly about the tragedy which haunts her. She has to deal with a high-pressure job while raising her child who moved with her to Norwich.

Available to Buy

Amazon UK

Amazon US


My Review

Well for a first read of Anne Penketh books I was suitably impressed, The Bad Sister is the second in the series surrounding DI Sam Clayton, the first being Murder On The Marsh. Although The Bad Sister is the second book it has enough back story to be read as a standalone, but it has encouraged me to go back and read the Murder On The Marsh.

The Bad sister runs with two investigations side by side, one is close to DI Clayton, his sisters husband has been brutally murdered, the other surrounds the Polish Community where a family has been killed in an arson attack. Clayton is removed from the investigation of his brother-in-law, so then concentrates all efforts on the Polish family, as the evidence builds, Clayton becomes a target, has he stumbled on vital evidence. Who wants him out of the picture? The exchange between both investigations running simultaneously is done extremely well by Anne, I sometimes find that when an author tries to achieve this it doesn’t blend well with the story and is eventually thrown off track but not in this case.

The Bad Sister propels along at a fairly fast pace, more and more questions that need answered the faster the pages are turned. The suspense and tension builds until it feels you cant take any more, adrenaline kicks in, all you can do is reach the end destination and breath.

Thank you to Joffe Books, Anne Penketh and Jill from Books_An_All for an advanced readers copy of The Bad Sister to read and review in exchange for my honest opinion.


Author Photo

Author Bio

I’m a Lancashire lass but for most of my career, I’ve been a foreign correspondent. I’ve reported from all over the world on some of the most cataclysmic events of our time, including the Egyptian revolution and the collapse of the Berlin wall.

These days I’m based in Paris and concentrating on fiction writing. The first in a series of crime novels featuring Detective Inspector Sam Clayton,  Murder On The Marsh, is out now. My first novel, Food Fight, was published in 2015.

I’ve reported  from Paris mainly for The Independent and The Guardian, but I also contribute to France24 television and Monocle radio.  (I was The Independent’s Diplomatic Editor, while based in London). As a freelancer, I’ve written for The New Zealand Herald and The National (Abu Dhabi), as well as the LA Times, the New York Times, the Radio Times, the Oldie, Monocle magazine, Quartz, and Spark News.

Between 2009 and 2012, I headed the Washington office of the British American Security Information Council (BASIC), a trans-Atlantic NGO focused on nuclear disarmament, during which time I was also a blogger and columnist for The Hill commenting on foreign affairs.

During my ten-year stint on The Independent I was one of the few journalists to report from Iran, North Korea and Saudi Arabia.

Earlier, I was a staff foreign correspondent with the French news agency, AFP, which posted me to Moscow during the incredible Gorbachev years. I also reported for AFP from France, and New York where I covered the United Nations.

I started my journalistic career in Canada, arriving with two suitcases to seek my fortune in Montreal, from where I reported for British newspapers before getting a job on the Montreal Gazette.

Before that, I was a postgraduate student at University College London whose French department nurtured my lifelong love of French literature. As a result, my own books include a dash of French spice.

Author Links

Twitter: @annepenketh

Website: annepenketh.com

 

One thought on “THE BAD SISTER by ANNE PENKETH

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s