The Fourth Friend by Joy Ellis

BLOG TOUR BANNER


9781912106868

Book Description

THE FOURTH FRIEND by Joy Ellis

From #1 best-selling author Joy Ellis, a mystery full of stunning twists and turns.

Police detective Carter McLean is the only survivor of a plane crash that kills his four best friends. He returns to work but he is left full of guilt and terrible flashbacks. For each of his four friends he decides to complete a task that they left unfinished.

Eighteen months before the crash, Suzanne Holland disappeared, leaving a room with traces of blood, but no other leads. Suzanne was the wife of one of Carter’s four best friends.

Adding to the pressure, the boss’s daughter has a stalker. Due to the sensitivity of the Holland case, Carter is put on this investigation.

DS Marie Evans is the only person Carter can confide in. But even she begins to doubt whether he can really cope and whether he is actually losing his mind.

As the mysteries grow deeper, Jackman & Evans face a battle to untangle three mysteries, and can they really believe their friend and colleague Carter?

THE DETECTIVES
DS Marie Evans lost her husband in a motorbike accident and has personal connections to the case. DI Jackman leads the team. He is extremely smart and has a knack for bringing out the best in his diverse team.

THIS BOOK IS NOT PART OF THE NIKKI GALENA SERIES BUT TAKES PLACE IN THE SAME STUNNING AREA

Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Sarah A. Denzil, Robert Bryndza, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

ALSO BY JOY ELLIS
THE NIKKI GALENA SERIES
Book 1: CRIME ON THE FENS
Book 2: SHADOW OVER THE FENS
Book 3: HUNTED ON THE FENS
Book 4: KILLER ON THE FENS
Book 5: STALKER ON THE FENS
Book 6: CAPTIVE ON THE FENS
Book 7: BURIED ON THE FENS

JACKMAN & EVANS
Book 1: THE MURDERER’S SON
Book 2: THEIR LOST DAUGHTERS
Book 3: THE FOURTH FRIEND

Available to Buy Amazon UK

Available to Buy Amazon US


My Book Review

The opening chapter of the book is centred around a plane crash in which Detective Carter McLean is the only survivor, his four friends perish before he can save them. Eighteen months after the catastrophic event Carter returns to work under the watchful eye his superiors who have paired him with Detective Superintendent Marie Evans hoping she will help curtail his off the rails behaviour.

Once Carter starts to settle back into the daily grind of police work he seemingly starts to see and hear his friends, each wishing him to help them complete a last task. Will this allow Carter to gain some peace and address his Survivors Guilt ?

Survivor Guilt– a deep feeling of guilt often experienced by those who have survived a catastrophic event that took the lives of others; originating in part from a feeling that they did not do enough to save the others who perished and in part from feelings of being unworthy relative to those who died. 

Carter has the opportunity to try and mend a rift with the Superintendent through working a case surrounding the stalking of her niece. Carter is committed to solving the case even if a bit lax and not fully engaging in the seriousness of the case, even when Evans believes there is more to it, he tends to brush Evans concerns under the carpet.

A secondary case is that of the disappearance of Carters best friends wife which has had no conclusion in the eighteen months it has been investigated. Carter is desperate to become involved but its not understood what his real intentions or reasons why this case is so important to him, is it because he believes his dead friend wishes his wife to be found and justice served or is there more to it.

This is the third book in the Jackman & Evans series and it certainly doesn’t disappoint. The very first chapter portrayed the horrifyingly intense scene surrounding the plane crash it grabs your immediate attention and doesn’t let go all the way through to the very last page the ingenious plotline intensifies as pages are rapidly turned. On several occasions I thought yes I’ve got it, but Joy always managed to throw me off track with an expertly placed red herring, the last piece in the puzzle certainly brought out the OMG in me.

Thank you to Joffe Books, Joy Ellis and Jill for the opportunity to be part of the Blog Tour for The Fourth Friend in exchange for an honest review.


Joy+and+the+boys+039+(1)

Author Bio

“I was born in Kent but spent most of my working life in London and Surrey. I was an apprentice florist to Constance Spry Ltd, a prestigious Mayfair shop that throughout the sixties and seventies teemed with both royalty and ‘real’ celebrities. What an eye-opener for a working-class kid from the Garden of England! I swore then, probably whilst I was scrubbing the floor or making the tea, that I would have a shop of my own one day. It took until the early eighties, but I did it. Sadly the recession wiped us out, and I embarked on a series of weird and wonderful jobs; the last one being a bookshop manager. Surrounded by books all day, getting to order whatever you liked, and being paid for it! Oh bliss!
And now I live in a village in the Lincolnshire Fens with my partner, Jacqueline, and our two second generation Springer spaniels. I had been writing mysteries for years but never had the time to take it seriously. Now I can, and as my partner is a highly decorated retired police officer; my choice of genre was suddenly clear. I have set my crime thrillers here in the misty fens because I sincerely love the remoteness and airy beauty of the marshlands. This area is steeped in superstitions and lends itself so well to murder!”

Links:

Joy Ellis Amazon Page

Goodreads Author Page

Author Website

 

 

 

Advertisements

One thought on “The Fourth Friend by Joy Ellis

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s