Guilty by Laura Elliot


Book Description

It begins with a phone call. It ends with a missing child.

On a warm summer’s morning, thirteen-year-old school girl Constance Lawson is reported missing.

A few days later, Constance’s uncle, Karl Lawson suddenly finds himself swept up in a media frenzy created by journalist Amanda Bowe implying that he is the prime suspect.

Six years later …

Karl’s life is in ruins. His marriage is over, his family destroyed. But the woman who took everything away from him is thriving. With a successful career, husband and a gorgeous baby boy, Amanda’s world is complete. Until the day she receives a phone call and in a heartbeat, she is plunged into every mother’s worst nightmare.

My Review

Laura Elliot brings her psychological thriller to life with deception, an adulterous liaison, fractured family relations and above all…………. Sweet Revenge.

Guilty is a book told in 4 parts, the transition from each event is smooth and easy to adapt your thought process. Guilty begins with a parents worst nightmare, a missing child. Constance is a typical teenager, argues with parents, has become secretive sneaking out a night, until she doesn’t come home, Constance is never coming home. Uncle Karl was Constance’s confidant she turned to him for advice when she believed her parents were too strict with her, as the story unfolds the media latch onto Karl’s closeness with his niece.

Amanda is a journalist who is determined to prove that Karl murdered his niece, by any means possible, loose tongues propel Karl into the spotlight, his life spirals out of control.
Years later Amanda is a successful career driven journalist married and pregnant, Karl is destitute, no home, no family, no job his only solace at the bottom of a bottle.
As the years pass, Karma comes calling, Revenge is a dish best serve cold…….

Laura spins a web full of lies and deceit, where carefully worded scenarios can destroy a persons life. Laura has produced a fantastic psychological thriller, it will keep you on the edge of your seat.

Thank you to NetGalley, Bookouture and Laura Elliot for a advanced readers copy in exchange for an honest review.

Available to buy Amazon UK               Available to buy Amazon US

Author Bio


Laura Elliot is the author of five novels, Stolen Child and The Prodigal Sister, published by Avon HarperCollins. Her novels, Fragile Lies, The Betrayal, Sleep Sister and Guilty are published by Bookouture. Her books have been widely translated and she has collaborated on a number of high-profile non-fiction books.

Aka June Considine, she is an author of twelve books for children and young adults. Her children’s short stories have been broadcast and have appeared in a number of teenage anthologies. She gives regular workshops on creative writing. She has also worked as a freelance journalist and magazine editor but is now engaged full time in creative writing.

She lives in Malahide, Co Dublin, Ireland.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s